MUNSTER TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY (MTU) is located in Cork and Kerry in Ireland. MTU was established on 01 January 2021 as a merger of two long established Institutes of Technology - Cork Institute of Technology and Institute of Technology Tralee. It is the Technological University for the South West region of Ireland. The Institutional structure of MTU encompasses two constituent colleges, distributed over six campuses. MTU has a staff of 2,000 and over 18,000 students, in courses ranging from FETAC Levels 6 to 10, in faculties of Education, Business, Computing, Engineering, Fine Art & Design, Humanities, Maritime Education, Music and Science. MTU is one of the largest higher educational and research organisations in Ireland. The Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering at MTU Cork has 18 full-time lecturers,10 part-time lecturers and over 400 students who study for Bachelor of Engineering, Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) and Masters of Engineering degrees in civil, structural and environmental engineering. Its taught programs in engineering are internationally accredited by Engineers Ireland under the terms of the Washington Accord. The Department also has MSc and PhD research programs which are currently active in the areas of fire engineering, structural behaviour, asset management and environmental engineering.